Award Winners Make Our Division Proud!


Elizabeth Abraham, a Ph.D. student in Agricultural Education, attended the International Extension Education Conference in Varanasi, India on January 27-30, 2016. This event was organized by the Department of Extension Education at Banaras Hindu University. She was awarded the Best Oral Presentation Award for her session.


Brandon Roiger, a junior studying Agricultural Education and Journalism, received the 2016 Undergraduate Student Leadership Award from the University of Minnesota’s College of Food, Agricultural, and Natural Resource Sciences.  This award recognizes a CFANS student who has completed at least one full year of studies, volunteers his or her services to assist on campus and with fellow students, and has demonstrated leadership through campus activities outside the classroom.

Rebecca Swenson

Dr. Rebecca Swenson, Assistant Professor of Agricultural Education, has been named the recipient of the 2016 Media Award from the Minnesota FFA Foundation.  While providing guidance to the next generation of agriculture communicators, Dr. Swenson also provided guidance to Minnesota FFA by helping prepare candidates to serve as media interns for the State Convention. “I love the power in communication,” said Swenson. “We can engage more people in agricultural discussions and have a positive impact on the industry.”

Thomas Liepold

Thomas Liepold, a senior in Agricultural Communication & Marketing and Political Science, was named the 2016 recipient of the college’s Dean E.M. Freeman Medal.  According to the nomination material, “This medal is awarded to a graduating senior who has demonstrated an unusual sense of personal responsibility for the welfare of the University of Minnesota and its community. Special emphasis is placed on involvement in the life and activities of the St. Paul campus. In addition, importance is placed on the individual’s demonstrated academic performance while at the U of M. The Dean E.M. Freeman Medal is given both in appreciation of the individual, and as a community statement recognizing the importance of truly outstanding individual contributions.”

Amy Smith

Dr. Amy Smith, Assistant Professor of Agricultural Education, is the 2016 recipient of the College of Food, Agricultural, and Natural Resource Sciences Distinguished Diversity and Inclusion Award.  This award was established to recognize significant accomplishments and innovation in achieving and sustaining diversity, multiculturalism and inclusion efforts within CFANS personnel, policies, programs, environment, climate, and constituencies.

In addition to the awards listed above, Dr. Brad Greiman, Associate Professor of Agricultural Education, and Elizabeth Abraham, a Ph.D. student in Agricultural Education, earned Second Runner-Up in the Outstanding Poster Presentation area at the 2015 North Central Region Conference of the American Association for Agricultural Education.  Their poster was entitled, “Yes, We Hear You! Utilizing the Success Case Method for Program Evaluation.”

Congratulations to our students and faculty members on these well-deserved honors!