Students Receive Scholarships from MAELC

Thirty-three students have been awarded a scholarship from the Minnesota Agricultural Education Leadership Council (MAELC) for the 2017-2018 academic school year.  This year, ten incoming freshmen received the Freshman Scholarship, two of which will be attending the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities in the fall.  Twenty undergraduate students, ten of which are University of Minnesota, Twin Cities students, were awarded the Continuing Undergraduate Scholarship.  MAELC also awarded three Graduate Agricultural Education Licensure Scholarships.

MAELC provides three types of scholarships for students: the Freshman Scholarship for incoming Agricultural Education students attending the University of Minnesota or another Minnesota institution offering Agricultural Education; the Continuing Agricultural Education Scholarship for current college students studying Agricultural Education-Teacher Licensure; and lastly, the Graduate Agricultural Education Licensure Scholarship for students who are working toward getting their Masters in Education and teaching license for Agricultural Education. New this year, MAELC has added a Diversity Fellowship for graduate students in Agricultural Education-Teacher Licensure that are from underrepresented groups in the agriculture teacher field.

MAELC is an organization that works to promote and improve the Agricultural Education programs in the state of Minnesota. The Council consists of representatives from various organizations and businesses that are involved in Agricultural Education. For more information on MAELC and the scholarships they provide, please follow this link to their website.

Congratulations to all the MAELC scholarship recipients!

University of Minnesota, Twin Cities Freshmen Scholarship Recipients: Katie Benson and Amanda Langley

University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, Continuing Agricultural Education Scholarship Recipients: Wendy Bauman, Harley Braun, Katie Brown, Mariah Daninger, Winona Johnson, Maggie Larson, Haely Leiding, Joe Ramstad, Adam Stevermer, and Brandon Thurk

University of Minnesota, Twin Cities Graduate Agricultural Education Licensure Scholarship Recipients: Traci Block, Matt Frenchick, and Katherine Klar

AECM also awards scholarships to deserving students studying Agricultural Education and Agricultural Communication & Marketing.  Scholarships will be awarded to incoming freshman, transfer students, and current students in these majors. These awards for the 2017-18 school year are due to the generous donations from alumni, friends, professional associations and organizations. Students in the Ag Ed and ACM majors receive one of the highest levels of scholarship support among majors in CFANS and the U of M. Scholarship recipients will be announced later this month.